Welcome to Detroit Sports Forum!

By joining our community, you'll be able to connect with fellow fans that live and breathe Detroit sports just like you!

Get Started
  • If you are no longer able to access your account since our recent switch from vBulletin to XenForo, you may need to reset your password via email. If you no longer have access to the email attached to your account, please fill out our contact form and we will assist you ASAP. Thanks for your continued support of DSF.

Has anyone ever quit smoking?

dannydiggler

I've been smoking for 8 years. I stopped cold turkey 2 days ago and I'm ready to rip someones fucking head off. Every little things pisses me off. I can't even drink to relax because the craving gets 1000x worse. How the hell does anyone quit?

EDIT

Not sure if I've actually quit cold turkey.. I've been chewing about 3 times a day. Still though.. arrrrgh11

I quit in August cold turkey. I weaned myself off cutting back like one cigarette a day until I got down to like 3 a day and was smoking 3 for a couple Weeks or better and so on so on, took awhile but it worked. For the first little bit I still had cravings then it got to the point that I couldn't stand the smell and now I can smell that smell a mile away and don't want to be around it.

I'm not sure that can be considered cold turkey or not.

I also had a buddy who quit and he said he took the contents of a nasty ashtray and put them into a Ziploc bag and when he'd get cravings he'd open it up and take a big whiff and instantly get disgusted and not want to smoke. He said it took about two days before he really didn't want a cigarette anymore because the ashtray bag was so gross smelling.