Welcome to Detroit Sports Forum!

By joining our community, you'll be able to connect with fellow fans that live and breathe Detroit sports just like you!

Get Started
  • If you are no longer able to access your account since our recent switch from vBulletin to XenForo, you may need to reset your password via email. If you no longer have access to the email attached to your account, please fill out our contact form and we will assist you ASAP. Thanks for your continued support of DSF.

Thoughts on how to get a better job?

zoombabyzoom

I'm stuck managing a semi-fast food restaurant. I have 5+ years of management experience, a Bachelors in Business, proven track record of success in hospitality/guest services, managing people and situations, and food cost savings. I also, belong to a volunteer group called the Jaycees.

I've heard people recommend reading What Color is Your Parachute, but all my jobs have been found through contacts. Many, many, many resumes have gone out and they've all led to squat.

As other people have said, a lot of jobs nowadays are all about who you know. Which is unfortunate. Recently, a management position opened up where I work. Associates in Criminal justice, minor in Business Management. Two years experience with a MUCH larger staff, higher demand, and open to much more scrutiny if the job was performed sub-par.

They gave it to a person who was hired in roughly three months ago. They were hired to the company in the first place since they were friend's with one of the managers. Now, with no college or experience managing, is now a manager.

I bet a lot of companies can't figure out why they're going bankrupt.

I know its the main reason I got into the Jaycees, to help network.

I agree, it doesn't always matter how much you know but instead how well you bullshit with the boss, at least that seems to be how you get acknowledged at my work place.

[color=#551A8B said: