Welcome to Detroit Sports Forum!

By joining our community, you'll be able to connect with fellow fans that live and breathe Detroit sports just like you!

Get Started
  • If you are no longer able to access your account since our recent switch from vBulletin to XenForo, you may need to reset your password via email. If you no longer have access to the email attached to your account, please fill out our contact form and we will assist you ASAP. Thanks for your continued support of DSF.

Predators Suspend 2 players for game 3

biggunsbob

The Nashville Predators will be without Alexander Radulov and Andrei Kostitsyn for Game 3 on Wednesday.

The club suspended them for violating a team curfew Saturday night on the eve of Game 2.
General manager David Poile announced the scratches in a release.

"I've been a manager for 30 years, I care about each individual player, but I've never put an individual player above the team. In this case, the players violated a team rule," Poile told ESPN.com. "It's disappointing any time a player has to miss a game because of violating a team rule, and it's even more significant at playoff time, but the decision between the coach and myself was very easy.

"We have to do the right thing. Their actions spoke volumes in terms of their lack of commitment and focus to give our club a chance to win."

Radulov said the situation was between him and his GM.

"I'm going to get out there for our whole team, for all of the guys, and support and do what I can do for myself," he said. "Hopefully, those guys can get out there and win -- get Game 3. That whole situation -- I don't really want to get into it. I don't think it's good [to get into it]. Hopefully, everything is going to go well for our team and we'll battle through it."

Poile and coach Barry Trotz ran this decision by captain Shea Weber and other Preds' leaders before announcing it.